Clara Schumann (1819-1896)


Clara Schumann

Prelude and Fugue in F sharp minor for piano (1845) CM110


This edition follows the MS available at IMSLP, from SLUB (Saxon State and University Library) in Dresden.

This piece was written as a birthday gift to Robert Schumann in 1845, at a time when the Schumanns were studying counterpoint and fugue together. For years it was believed to be incomplete, because the sheets of the manuscript had been bound in the wrong order. From the same period come the Preludes and Fugues, op. 16 and the Three Fugues on themes by Sebastian Bach. I think it is a masterpiece, and deserves to be better known.

and CM110A - an arrangement for string orchestra

see our string orchestra page