Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov (1844-1908)



Seven Fugues CM125

for string trio (arranged from piano works by Tony Urbainczyk)

score  £8.00 (36 pages)

parts each £3.00

(set of score and parts £12.00)

As a student Rimsky-Korsakov was rumored to have written more than 50 fugues! These seven fugues are fine examples of his contrapuntal technique, all written very strictly, which made their arrangement quite straightforward. They are:

Fugues 1, 2, 4 and 5 from Six Fugues, op 17,

Fugue on BACH, op. 10 no. 6,

Fugue in C, op 15, no. 3 (transposed down a semitone)


Fugue in G minor (without opus no.)

See the first two pages of music here